What makes us distinct?

St James the Less is a member of the Glasgow and Galloway Diocese of the Scottish Episcopal Church.

The Scottish Episcopal Church is part of the world-wide Anglican Communion, with seven historic dioceses covering the whole of Scotland bearing witness to faith today, and tracing a history back to the earliest known Christians in Scotland.  More information can be found at www.scotland.anglican.org (site currently being updated).


What makes the Scottish Episcopal Church different? –

We are governed by bishops.

These bishops serve seven dioceses in Scotland.  One is elected by the other bishops to be Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church.

We acknowledge the equal ministry of men and women.

We have Communion (Eucharist) each week.

All baptised Christians are welcome to take Communion.

The Rector (known in other traditions as Minister or Vicar or Priest) robes, as do the Servers and the Lay Reader.

Comments are closed.